Whole Community, Any Hazard: The Updated National Planning Frameworks

KatrinaFloodingFEMA’s newly updated National Planning Frameworks were released late last week, including updates to comply with PPD-21, Critical Infrastructure Security and Resilience, and EO 13636, Improving Critical Infrastructure Cybersecurity, among others. The five frameworks, Prevention; Protection; Mitigation; Response; and Recovery, were last updated in May of 2013 and aim to foster a whole community approach to disasters, involving local and national stakeholders.

According to FEMA, the Whole Community approach to the Planning Frameworks includes:

  • Individuals and families, including those with access and functional needs
  • Businesses
  • Faith-based and community organizations
  • Nonprofit groups
  • Schools and academia
  • Media outlets
  • All levels of government, including state, local, tribal, territorial, and federal partners

The components of the National Planning Framework can be found below:

Overview of the National Planning Frameworks

National Planning Framework: What’s New Factsheet

National Prevention Framework (second edition)

National Protection Framework (second edition)

National Mitigation Framework (second edition)

National Response Framework (third edition)

National Disaster Recovery Framework (second edition)

FEMA is also hosting a series of hour-long webinars to inform stakeholders and other interested parties. Links to register can be found below. All talks are first-come, first-serve.

6/23/16 | 3:00 – 4:00 PM

6/28/16 | 1:00 – 2:00 PM

6/30/16 | 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM

7/6/16 | 10:00 – 11:00 AM

Note: you may need to login to the HSDL to view some resources mentioned in the blog.

Need help finding something?  Ask our librarians for assistance!

Scroll to Top