Creation of FEMA

March 31, 1979:

“President Carter’s 1979 Executive Order 12127 merged many of separate disaster-related responsibilities into a new Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). FEMA was created to: Coordinate Federal emergency authorities, including the administration of disaster response and recovery programs; [and] Assume the role of the Federal Disaster Assistance Administration and assume responsibilities from the Federal Preparedness Agency, the Defense Civil Preparedness Agency, the Federal Insurance Administration, the Office of Emergency Preparedness, and the U.S. Fire Administration.

FEMA is headquartered in Washington, DC, with 10 regional offices that help plan, coordinate, and manage disaster assistance activities, including disaster operations, disaster assistance, mitigation, and preparedness. Other activities include providing emergency food and shelter funding for those left homeless, and planning to ensure the continuity of the Federal Government during national security emergencies.” — FEMA

Related Resources:


Scroll to Top