Third Quadrennial Homeland Security Review

The Department of Homeland Security has released the Third Quadrennial Homeland Security Review (QHSR), a continuation of the first two QHSR Reports issued in 2010 and 2014. The purpose of the QHSR is to highlight the “collective efforts and shared responsibilities of federal, state, local, tribal, territorial, nongovernmental, and private-sector partners–as well as individuals, families, and communities.” This third edition of the review reaffirms the five missions listed in the first two reviews: Preventing Terrorism and Enhancing Security, Securing and Managing Our Borders, Enforcing and Administering Our Immigration Laws, Safeguarding and Securing Cyberspace, and Ensuring Resilience to Disasters. In addition to keeping the first five mission statements relevant, this third QHSR review introduces a new mission.

The new mission, Combat Crimes of Exploitation and Protect Victims, will provide the basis for the necessary enhancements to combat these pernicious crimes.
U.S. Department of Homeland Security

The sixth mission is composed of three subsections:

Enhance Prevention through Public Education and Training;
Identify, Protect, and Support Victims;
and Detect, Apprehend, and Disrupt Perpetrators.

It is the goal of the DHS that each QHSR adapts to the new threats that emerge as technology grows more complex and foreign adversaries wage “new kinds of war.”

For more information, check out HSDL’s In Focus topics.

Scroll to Top