CISA Releases Infrastructure Resilience Planning Framework

The Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) has released Infrastructure Resilience Planning Framework (IRPF), Version 1.1, a report providing guidance on critical infrastructure resilience. Beyond preventing hazard and disaster-based disruptions, organizations should be prepared for economic and technological changes. Mitigating possible disruptions to critical infrastructure sectors is essential for ensuring there are minimal impacts to the social and economic health of the nation.

Critical infrastructure sectors as defined by the report include the following:

  1. Chemical
  2. Commercial Facilities
  3. Communications
  4. Critical Manufacturing
  5. Dams
  6. Defense Industrial Base
  7. Emergency Services
  8. Energy
  9. Financial Services
  10. Food and Agriculture
  11. Government Facilities
  12. Healthcare & Public Health
  13. Information Technology
  14. Nuclear Reactors, Materials, and Waste
  15. Transportation Systems
  16. Water/Wastewater System

All of these sectors have the potential to disrupt essential functions and cause serious damage to human health and economic stability. As such, organizations falling into any of these categories should take special precautions to ensure continuity of services amidst unusual circumstances. According to the report, one of the best ways to approach this process from a community stand-point is to implement a 5-step framework that includes assessing current plans and resources, identifying infrastructure priorities, performing risk assessments, developing mitigation plans, and integrating completed plans in a measurable manner.

For more information on topics related to this piece, please visit the HSDL In Focus on Cyber Infrastructure Protection, Disaster Economics, and Energy Security.

Note: you may need to login to the HSDL to view some resources mentioned in the blog.

Need help finding something?  Ask our librarians for assistance!

Scroll to Top