Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) [Updated July 26, 2022]   [open pdf - 563KB]

From the Overview: "The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is Southeast Asia's primary multilateral organization, a 10- member grouping of nations with a combined population of 660 million and a combined annual gross domestic product (GDP) of around $3.1 trillion in 2021. Established in 1967, it has grown into one of the world's largest regional fora, representing a strategically important region straddling some of the world's busiest sea lanes, including the Straits of Malacca and the South China Sea. Taken collectively, ASEAN would rank as the world's fifth-largest economy and the United States' fourth-largest export market. ASEAN's members are Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam. Members rotate as chair: Cambodia is ASEAN's chair for 2022 and Indonesia is to assume the chair in 2023. ASEAN engages in a wide range of diplomatic, economic and security discussions through hundreds of annual meetings and through a secretariat based in Jakarta, Indonesia. In 2008, the United States became the first non-ASEAN nation to appoint a representative to ASEAN, and in 2011 it opened a U.S. mission to ASEAN in Jakarta with a resident ambassador. Several other nations have followed suit. President Biden held a summit with ASEAN's leaders on May 12-13 in Washington, DC. (Burma's junta leader and outgoing Philippine president Rodrigo Duterte did not attend.) ASEAN leaders also met with a bipartisan group of Members including House Speaker Pelosi, Majority Leader Hoyer, and Minority Leader McCarthy. ASEAN is a diverse and informal organization."

Report Number:
CRS In Focus, IF10348
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Congressional Research Service: https://crsreports.congress.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations