National Health Service Corps [Updated January 4, 2022]   [open pdf - 1MB]

From the Introduction: "The National Health Service Corps (NHSC) is a clinician recruitment and retention program that aims to reduce health workforce shortages in underserved areas. The NHSC has three components: (1) a federal scholarships program, (2) a federal loan repayment program, and (3) a state-operated loan repayment program. Under each of these programs, health providers receive either scholarships or loan repayments in exchange for a service commitment at an NHSC-approved facility located in a federally designated health professional shortage area[.] [...] Participants in the state loan repayment programs may also serve in state-designated shortage areas; federal program participants may not. NHSC-approved facilities are generally nonprofit or government-operated (federal, state, local, or tribal) organizations that provide care to patients without regard for the patient's ability to pay. [...] The three NHSC programs are managed by the Bureau of Health Workforce (BHW) in the Health Resources and Service Administration (HRSA), an agency in the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). [...] Since the program's inception, Congress has reauthorized and revised the program several times, with the most recent reauthorization included in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act[.] [...] The ACA permanently reauthorized the NHSC, creating, among other things, a mandatory funding stream for the program and implementing a part-time option, which allows part-time service in exchange for an extended service commitment. This report provides an overview of the NHSC, including the program's funding, the number and types of providers the program supports, and the locations where they serve."

Report Number:
CRS Report for Congress, R44970
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Congressional Research Service: https://crsreports.congress.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations