Communications Act of 1978, Volume 1, Hearings Before the Subcommittee on Communications of the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce, House of Representatives, Ninety-Fifth Congress, Second Session, July 18, 19, 20, and 21, 1978   [open pdf - 337MB]

This is the July 18, 19, 20, and 21, 1978 hearing on "Communications Act of 1978, Volume 1," held before the U.S. House Subcommittee on Communications of the Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce. From the Statement of Charles D. Ferris: "In my testimony this morning, I would like to discuss with you four main issues of special interest to me. First, I would like to address the basic regulatory goals set forth in section 101 of your bill particularly as they compare with those in the present act. Specifically, I want to focus on the implications of shifting from a public interest, convenience, and necessity standard to one emphasizing the goal of regulation to the extent marketplace forces are deficient. Second, there is the general question of the proper allocation of regulatory and policy functions between independent regulatory and executive branch agencies. I will be addressing specifically your bill proposal to separate spectrum allocation from spectrum licensing and to centralize allocation in an executive branch agency. Third, my testimony will deal with the allocation of Federal, State, and local jurisdiction on the Telecommuncations field. Finally, I want to stress the importance I attach to strengthening the role of public participation in the communications policymaking process." Statements, letters, and materials submitted for the record include those of the following: Ann Aldrich, Tyrone Brown, Dean Burch, Barry Cole, John M. Cornman, Thomas B. Cross, John Edger, Richard A. Elkin, Charles D. Ferris, Joseph R. Fogarty, Federick W. Ford, Howard Gan, Henry Geller, Henry Goldberg, Edward Hayes Jr., E. William Henry, Robert W. Hughes, Rosel Hyde, Margo James, Nicholas Johnson, Lawrence W. Lichty, Newton Minow, Harold E. Morse, William R Nusbaum, James H. Quello, Paul Rodgers, Robert Schmidt, John H. Shenefield, Abbott Washburn, Margita E. White, Clay T. Whitehead, and Richard E. Wiley.

Report Number:
Serial No. 95-194
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
U.S. Government Publishing Office: http://www.gpo.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations