Water Resources Development Act of 1979 Part 1, Hearings Before the Subcommittee on Water Resources of the Committee on Environment and Public Works, United States Senate, Ninety-Sixth Congress, First Session, June 12, 13 and 18, 1979   [open pdf - 369MB]

These are the June 12,13 and 18, 1979 hearings on "Water Resources Development Act of 1979 Part 1," held before the U.S. Senate Subcommittee on Water Resources of the Committee on Environment and Public Works. From the Opening Statement of Mike Gravel: "This morning the Subcommittee on Water Resources will begin a series of hearings leading to a water resources development bill of 1979. The basis of these hearings today and tomorrow is S. 703, which I introduced along with several of my colleagues, and other water resources legislation introduced in the Senate this session. [...] [A] large number of water resources projects have become backlogged themselves in several events. [...] We have had disastrous flooding that has occurred in several locations around the country. Urban and agricultural water supply remains a critical problem. National energy needs dictate the development of hydroelectric potential. Today and tomorrow we will hear from our colleagues in the Senate and House as well as the general public." Statements, letters, and materials submitted for the record include those of the following: Brent Blackwelder, Bill D. Burlison, James Fish, John Heinz, Thom Inglehart, Richard L. Ottinger, Donald Stewart, Paul E. Trimble, Baltasar Corrada, David Bonior, Rudy Boschwitz, Arthur J. Brosius, Lawton Chiles, Dave Durenberger, Thomas F. Eagleton, Joseph J. Ellam, M. T. Epling, J. James Exon, Robert L. Gray, Mark O. Hatfield, William Hull, James Jontz, Russel B. Long, Walter A. Lyon, Warren Magnuson, Francis X. McArdle, Timothy R. Murphy, Alfred Oberman, Arthur Parker, Nick Joe Rahall, Al Rice, Nichlas RoomyRichard L. Schultz, Paul Sheffield, Earl Sibley, Henry E. Soike, Fred Stutsman, Wilbur E. Ternyik, Mason Vansant, Edward Zorinsky, Henry Bellmon, Tim Lee Carter, Steve Cawood, Truman Chafin, John B. DuPuy, Larry W. George, Jackson O. Hall, Walter D. Huddleston, Carl D. Perkins, and Nicholas Zvegintzov.

Report Number:
Serial No. 96-H22
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
U. S. Government Publishing Office: http://www.gpo.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations