Tribal Lands: An Overview [October 14, 2021]   [open pdf - 534KB]

From the Document: "Tribal lands can have a complicated and intermingled mix of land ownership and designation statuses. For instance, some federally recognized Indian tribes (hereinafter referred to as 'tribes') have reservations, whereas other tribes do not. Tribes may have land held in trust by the federal government or tribes may own restricted fee lands. Still other tribes may be landless. Because tribal lands may have different ownership statuses, tribes and tribal members may have different rights to manage and develop their lands and resources. Further, the federal government has varying levels of responsibility to tribes and their members depending on the types of land holdings. The following are common tribal land holdings: trust land, restricted fee land, and fee land. Other types of land designations, while not considered property holdings, can influence tribal land policy and may include trust, restricted fee, and fee lands within their scope. Such designations include allotted land, federal Indian reservations, and the term 'Indian Country'[.] [...] This In Focus also considers selected issues for Congress, including the fractionation of allotted lands and the land-into-trust process. For more information on tribal lands, see CRS [Congressional Research Service] Report R46647, 'Tribal Land and Ownership Statuses: Overview and Selected Issues for Congress', by Tana Fitzpatrick."

Report Number:
CRS In Focus, IF11944
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Congressional Research Service: https://crsreports.congress.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations