Federal Emergency and Major Disaster Declarations for the COVID-19 Pandemic [June 4, 2021]   [open pdf - 1MB]

From the Introduction: "On January 31, 2020, then-Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) Alex Azar declared a Public Health Emergency under Section 319 the Public Health Service Act (PHSA) for the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic. On March 13, 2020, President Donald J. Trump simultaneously issued Proclamation 9994, which declared a national emergency pursuant to the National Emergencies Act (NEA), and declared an emergency under the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (Stafford Act) for the pandemic. Subsequently, the President approved major disaster declaration requests under the Stafford Act for all 50 states, five territories, the District of Columbia, and the Seminole Tribe of Florida. President Joseph R. Biden Jr. later approved major disaster declaration requests from the Navajo Nation, and the Poarch Band of Creek Indians for the COVID-19 pandemic. Additionally, on March 16, 2020, then-Administrator of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Jovita Carranza began issuing disaster declarations for SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDL) authorized under the Small Business Act in response to states seeking assistance for small businesses. The issuance of multiple federal emergency declarations for COVID-19 has raised congressional interest in the authorities and duration of each declaration. This report summarizes the different declarations issued in response to the pandemic and tabulates the forms of assistance authorized pursuant to each declaration."

Report Number:
CRS Report for Congress, R46809
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Congressional Research Service: https://crsreports.congress.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations