Temporary Protected Status and Deferred Enforced Departure [Updated May 28, 2021]   [open pdf - 1MB]

From the Document: "When civil unrest, violence, or natural disasters erupt in countries around the world, concerns arise over the ability of foreign nationals present in the United States who are from those countries to safely return. Provisions in the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) provide for temporary protected status (TPS) and other forms of relief from removal under specified circumstances. The Secretary of Homeland Security has the discretion to designate a country for TPS for periods of 6 to 18 months and can extend these periods if the country continues to meet the conditions for designation. Congress has also provided TPS legislatively. A foreign national from a designated country who is granted TPS receives a registration document and employment authorization for the duration of the TPS designation. As of March 11, 2021, approximately 320,000 foreign nationals living in the United States were protected by TPS from 10 countries: El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. The Trump Administration terminated TPS designations for six countries--El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Nepal, Nicaragua, and Sudan-- but these terminations have not taken effect due to litigation. In March 2021, the Biden Administration designated two more countries for TPS: Venezuela and Burma; and in May 2021 the Administration announced a new TPS designation for Haiti. Certain Liberians and Venezuelans currently maintain relief under a similar administrative mechanism known as Deferred Enforced Departure (DED)."

Report Number:
CRS Report for Congress, RS20844
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Congressional Research Service: https://crsreports.congress.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations