IAEA Budget and U.S. Contributions: In Brief [Updated April 2, 2021]   [open pdf - 847KB]

From the Introduction and Background: "The United States has been a member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) since the agency's 1957 founding. The IAEA Statute was approved on October 23, 1956, by the Conference on the Statute of the International Atomic Energy Agency, which was held at United Nations (U.N.) headquarters. Article II of the Statute, which came into force on July 29, 1957, describes the agency's purpose: The Agency shall seek to accelerate and enlarge the contribution of atomic energy to peace, health and prosperity throughout the world. It shall ensure, so far as it is able, that assistance provided by it or at its request or under its supervision or control is not used in such a way as to further any military purpose. The IAEA, an autonomous intergovernmental organization that has a relationship agreement with the U.N., has 172 member states, including the United States. The agency's missions include promoting nuclear power, nuclear safety, nuclear security, and nuclear technology for medical and agricultural purposes, as well as implementing safeguards agreements in more than 180 countries. Countries that are not members of the IAEA may still be subject to agency inspections or receive IAEA technical assistance."

Report Number:
CRS Report for Congress, R44384
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Congressional Research Service: https://crsreports.congress.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations