Submission of the President's Budget in Transition Years [Updated January 28, 2021]   [open pdf - 1MB]

From the Summary: "At the time of a presidential transition, one question commonly asked is whether the outgoing or incoming President submits the budget for the upcoming fiscal year. Under past practices, and prior to more recent statutory changes, outgoing Presidents in transition years submitted a budget to Congress just prior to leaving office, and incoming Presidents usually revised them. Six incoming Presidents--Dwight Eisenhower, John Kennedy, Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, and Ronald Reagan--revised their predecessors' budgets shortly after taking office. Two Presidents during this period, Lyndon Johnson and George H. W. Bush, chose not to do so. The deadline for submission of the President's budget, which has been changed several times over the years, was most recently set in 1990 as 'on or after the first Monday in January but not later than the first Monday in February of each year.' The change made it possible for an outgoing President, whose term ends on January 20, to leave the annual budget submission to his successor. The five outgoing Presidents since the 1990 change--George H. W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush, Barack Obama, and Donald Trump--exercised this option. Accordingly, the budget was submitted in 1993, 2001, 2009, and 2017 by the four incoming Presidents (Bill Clinton for FY1994, George W. Bush for FY2002, Barack Obama for FY2010, and Donald Trump for FY2018). As of this writing, President Joe Biden has not yet reached the statutory deadline for submission of the FY2022 budget."

Report Number:
CRS Report for Congress, RS20752
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Congressional Research Service: https://crsreports.congress.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations