Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Hazard Mitigation Assistance [Updated October 5, 2020]   [open pdf - 644KB]

From the Introduction: "The majority of funding in the United States for both pre- and post-disaster mitigation comes from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), which defines mitigation as 'any sustained action to reduce or eliminate long-term risk to people and property from natural hazards and their effects.' Mitigation actions have a long-term impact, as opposed to actions that are associated with immediate preparedness, response, and recovery activities. Mitigation has been shown to save money. A recent study by the Multihazard Mitigation Council found that society saves $6 for every dollar spent on mitigation funded through major federal mitigation grants. FEMA administers three hazard mitigation grant programs, which it collectively refers to as Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA): [1] the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP); [2] the Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Grant Program; [3] the Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) Grant Program, replaced by Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC). Eligible applicants include state and local governments and federally-recognized tribes. Certain nonprofit organizations may apply for HMGP. Individuals may not apply for HMA funding, but they may benefit from a community application. Applicants to all three programs must have FEMA-approved hazard mitigation plans. Eligible activities differ for the three programs."

Report Number:
CRS Insight, IN11187
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Congressional Research Service: https://crsreports.congress.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations