National Drug Control Strategy: Caribbean Border Counternarcotics Strategy (2020)   [open pdf - 269KB]

From the Introduction: "Transnational Criminal Organizations (TCOs) and other criminals operating throughout the Caribbean exploit the region's vulnerabilities to further their illegal activities. In addition to other unlawful acts, they smuggle illegal drugs such as heroin, fentanyl, methamphetamine, marijuana, MDMA (ecstasy), and cocaine to the United States, Europe, and other countries. They also smuggle weapons and utilize the region's weak financial regulatory environment to launder the illicit proceeds of their activities. The 'Caribbean Border' of the United States consists of the main island of Puerto Rico, which includes its six Ports of Entry (POEs) and approximately 748 miles of coastline; the islands of Vieques and Culebra; and the U.S. Virgin Islands (USVI), which includes the main islands of St. Croix, St. Thomas, and St. John. The Caribbean Border's proximity to South America makes it both a destination and a transshipment zone for the trafficking of illicit drugs to Florida, the East and Gulf Coasts of the United States, and to points throughout Europe and Africa."

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
U.S. White House Office: https://www.whitehouse.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations