National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program: FEMA Accomplishments in Fiscal Year 2010   [open pdf - 499KB]

"The National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP), which was first authorized by Congress in 1977, seeks to mitigate earthquake losses in the United States through basic and directed research and implementation activities in the fields of earthquake science and engineering. As one of the four NEHRP federal agencies, FEMA is responsible for developing effective earthquake risk reduction tools and promoting their implementation, as well as supporting the development of disaster‐resistant building codes and standards. FEMA's NEHRP activities are led by the FEMA Headquarters, Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration, Risk Reduction Division, Building Science Branch, in strong partnership and coordination with the FEMA Regions, the states, the four multi‐state earthquake consortia, and other partners. Section II of this annual report includes selected FEMA NEHRP accomplishments (HQ and Regional), followed by highlights from the states and organizations which received FEMA support for NEHRP activitisin Fiscal Year (FY) 2010, including the earthquake consortia and the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute. Section III provides contact information for FEMA HQ and FEMA Regional Earthquake Program Managers."

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Federal Emergency Management Agency: http://www.fema.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations