Congressional Budget Office: Appointment and Tenure of the Director and Deputy Director [Updated October 16, 2019]   [open pdf - 1016KB]

From the Background: "CBO's [Congressional Budget Office] mission is to support the House and Senate in the federal budget process by providing budgetary analysis and information in an objective and nonpartisan manner. Specific duties are placed on CBO by various provisions in law, particularly Titles II, III, and IV of the 1974 Congressional Budget Act, as amended. CBO prepares annual reports on the economic and budget outlook and on the President's budget proposals and provides cost estimates of legislation, scorekeeping reports, assessments of unfunded mandates, and products and testimony relating to other budgetary matters. In addition to statutory duties, CBO is subject to directives included in annual budget resolutions and chamber rules. Ten persons so far have served as CBO director: Alice Rivlin, Rudolph Penner, Robert Reischauer, June O'Neill, Dan Crippen, Douglas Holtz-Eakin, Peter R. Orszag, Douglas Elmendorf, Keith Hall, and Phillip Swagel. The current director, Phillip Swagel, began serving as director on June 3, 2019. Twelve persons have served as deputy director; five of them also served as the acting director (for periods amounting in total to about three years). The current deputy director, Mark Hadley, was appointed to the position in June 2016."

Report Number:
CRS Report for Congress, RL31880
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Congressional Research Service: https://crsreports.congress.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations