Nordic Countries and U.S. Relations [Updated August 26, 2019]   [open pdf - 478KB]

From the Document: "The five Nordic countries--Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden--share deep historical, linguistic, and cultural ties and many political and economic similarities. They are all stable democracies with parliamentary systems of government and prosperous market economies with relatively high standards of living. With a total population of roughly 27 million people, the Nordics collectively form the world's 12th-largest economy. [...] In recent years, migration policy has become a key political issue in the Nordics. The spike in refugees and migrants in Denmark, Finland, Norway, and Sweden during the height of the flows into Europe in 2015 strained education, housing, and welfare systems in all four countries. Most Nordic governments introduced tighter asylum policies and curtailed some welfare benefits. Refugees and migrants also have stirred debate about identity, integration, and security in the Nordics. Promoting societal integration has received heightened attention given that several hundred Nordic citizens fought and/or trained with the Islamic State terrorist group (also known as ISIS or ISIL) in Syria and Iraq, and in light of two terrorist attacks carried out by asylum-seekers in Sweden and Finland in 2017."

Report Number:
CRS In Focus, IF10740
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Congressional Research Service: https://crsreports.congress.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations