Maritime Boundaries: United States-Cook Islands and United States-New Zealand (Tokelau)   [open pdf - 394KB]

"On April 13, 1976, President Ford signed into law the Fishery Conservation and Management Act of 1976, effective March 1, 1977. This law affected fishery jurisdiction over marine areas off the coasts of the 50 states and of the territories of the United States, including American Samoa. At that time, only part of American Samoa's fishery zone was delimited, owing to the dispute between the United States and New Zealand over the sovereignty of three islands and between the United States and the Cook Islands over the sovereignty of four islands. The US claim to these islands had arisen out of occasional 19th-century visits to the islands by American whalers and by the execution of guano bonds pursuant to the 1856 Guano Islands Act. Each of the two treaties resolved the disputed status through recognition by the United States of the sovereignty of the Cook Islands and of Tokelau and New Zealand over the respective islands. In addition, the treaty delimiting the boundary between American Samoa and Tokelau confirmed US sovereignty over Swains Island. [...] Attached is a page-size map illustrating the two boundaries established to the north and to the east of American Samoa."

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
United States Department of State: http://www.state.gov
Media Type:
Limits in the Seas No.100
Help with citations