Termination of Temporary Protected Status for Sudan, Nicaragua, Haiti, and El Salvador: Key Takeaways and Analysis [February 2, 2018]   [open pdf - 550KB]

"Recently, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) announced the impending termination of Temporary Protected Status (TPS) designations for Sudan, Nicaragua, Haiti, and El Salvador. Certain non-U.S. nationals from designated TPS countries, who otherwise might lack the ability to remain in the United States, are permitted to stay and work in the United States during the period of TPS designation. Sudan, Nicaragua, Haiti, and El Salvador had been designated for TPS for most of the past two decades due to unstable or dangerous conditions in those countries. After concluding that the conditions originally warranting those TPS designations no longer exist, DHS announced dates on which the designations would no longer be in effect. Consequently, aliens from these countries who had previously been protected from removal through TPS-based relief might not be able to remain in the United States unless they have a separate legal basis for their continued presence. This Legal Sidebar examines some of the key legal takeaways and implications of DHS's decision to terminate the four countries' TPS designations."

Report Number:
CRS Legal Sidebar, LSB10070
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Federation of American Scientists: http://www.fas.org/sgp/crs/index.html
Media Type:
Help with citations