Final Report from the Republican Members of the Task Force on Denying Terrorists Entry to the United States   [open pdf - 611KB]

"Given the terrorism threat currently facing the United States, the House Homeland Security Committee established the Task Force on Denying Terrorists Entry into the United States (the Task Force) in February 2017. Chairman McCaul (R-TX) and Ranking Member Thompson (D-MS) appointed Rep. Mike Gallagher (R-WI) and Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ) to lead a bipartisan group of lawmakers. In addition to following up on the work done by the Committee's previous bipartisan Task Force, this new Task Force was charged with: examining how terrorists might infiltrate the homeland; identifying challenges with current U.S. government information sharing and vetting procedures; reviewing the screening agencies' structure and bureaucracy; and providing substantive recommendations to fix any weaknesses in these systems. [...] The Task Force identified seven challenges in America's screening and vetting framework prior to an individual's arrival in the homeland [...] Therefore, as a result of its investigation, the Task Force has seven recommendations designed to close gaps in our defenses."


scroll for more

McCaul, Michael T.
Gallagher, Michael J.
Higgins, Clay
Rutherford, John H.
Garrett, Thomas Alexander, Jr.
Fitzpatrick, Brian K.
Katko, John M.
Publisher:United States. Congress. House. Committee on Homeland Security
Copyright:Public Domain
Retrieved From:House Committee on Homeland Security: https://homeland.house.gov/
Media Type:application/pdf
Help with citations
Listed on December 20, 2017 [Critical Releases]