Introduction to the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) [July 25, 2017]   [open pdf - 797KB]

"The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) is authorized by the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968 (NFIA, Title XIII of P.L. 90-448, as amended, 42 U.S.C. §4001 et seq.), and was most recently reauthorized by the Biggert-Waters Flood Insurance Reform Act of 2012 (Title II of P.L. 112-141, henceforth BW-12). Congress amended elements of BW-12, but did not extend the NFIP's authorization further in the Homeowner Flood Insurance Affordability Act of 2014 (P.L. 113-89, henceforth HFIAA). The NFIP is managed by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), through its subcomponent the Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration (FIMA). As of February 2017, the NFIP had 4.99 million flood insurance policies providing approximately $1.24 trillion in coverage. The program collects about $3.5 billion in annual premium revenue. Nationally, as of April 2017, about 22,249 communities in 56 states and jurisdictions participated in the NFIP. According to FEMA, the program saves the nation an estimated $1.87 billion annually in flood losses avoided because of the NFIP's building and floodplain management regulations. This report provides introductory information on key components of the NFIP, ranging from floodplain mapping to the standard flood insurance forms. This report does not provide detail on current or future legislative issues for Congress. This report will be updated as significant revisions are made to the NFIP through legislation or administrative action. CRS also has a separate report on flood insurance and other federal disaster assistance programs."

Report Number:
CRS Report for Congress, R44593
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Federation of American Scientists: http://www.fas.org/sgp/crs/index.html
Media Type:
Help with citations