President Trump's Executive Order on Suspending Entry of Select Foreign Nationals: The Seven Countries [February 1, 2017]   [open pdf - 129KB]

"On January 27, 2017, President Trump signed an executive order (EO) entitled 'Protecting the Nation from Foreign Terrorists Entry Into the United States.' Invoking Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) §212(f), the President barred citizens of Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen from entering the United States for 90 days, with limited exceptions for those traveling on diplomatic and certain other types of visas. The action has given rise to the question of how these seven countries were selected. The EO does not specifically mention the seven countries. Instead, the EO suspends the entry of aliens from the countries referenced in INA §217(a)(12), which details certain persons who are restricted from traveling to the United States under the Visa Waiver Program (VWP). The VWP allows nationals from 38 countries, many of which are in Europe, to enter the United States as temporary visitors (nonimmigrants) for business or pleasure without first obtaining a visa from a U.S. consulate abroad. Temporary visitors for business or pleasure from non-VWP countries must obtain a visa from Department of State (DOS) officers at a consular post abroad before coming to the United States."

Report Number:CRS Insight, IN10642
Author:Siskin, Alison
Publisher:Library of Congress. Congressional Research Service
Copyright:Public Domain
Retrieved From:Federation of American Scientists: http://www.fas.org/sgp/crs/index.html
Media Type:application/pdf
Help with citations