Southeast Asia: Trends in U.S. and Chinese Economic Engagement, Report to Congressional Requesters   [open pdf - 3MB]

From the Highlights: "Both the United States and China seek to deepen their economic engagement with the 10 ASEAN [Association of Southeast Asian Nations] members: Brunei Darussalam, Burma, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam. ASEAN countries are seeking to further integrate their economies and create an economic community by the end of 2015. According to International Monetary Fund data, if ASEAN countries were a single nation, their collective 2014 GDP [gross domestic product] would represent the seventh largest economy in the world. In 2011, the President announced a renewed focus--known as the rebalance--on the Asia-Pacific region. The U.S. Department of State and U.S. Agency for International Development prepared a 5-year strategy for the rebalance. GAO [Government Accountability Office] was asked to examine the United States' and China's economic engagement in the region. This report examines (1) what available data indicate about U.S. and Chinese trade and investment with ASEAN countries and (2) what actions the U.S. and Chinese governments have taken to further economic engagement with these countries. GAO analyzed publicly available economic data and Chinese government documents and reviewed documentation from 10 U.S. agencies. GAO also interviewed U.S. officials and private sector representatives. Technical comments on a draft of this report from several agencies were incorporated by GAO where appropriate. GAO is not making any recommendations in this report."

Report Number:
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Government Accountability Office: http://www.gao.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations