Target Capabilities List: Version 1.1 (Draft)   [open pdf - 2MB]

"DHS/SLGCP [Department of Homeland Security's Office of State and Local Government Coordination and Preparedness] has adopted an approach to the implementation of HSPD-8 [Homeland Security Presidential Directive 8: National Preparedness] that centers on building specific prevention, protection, response, and recovery capabilities within an integrated national preparedness system. This approach began with rigorous analysis of a range of representative planning scenarios for incidents of national significance. From this analysis, key homeland security prevention, protection, response and recovery tasks were defined and cataloged. Finally, capabilities required to perform these tasks were documented. These efforts responded to HSPD-8 requirements to develop 'readiness priorities, targets, and metrics,' and to the Homeland Security Appropriations Act of 2005 (Public Law 108-334) requirement for DHS/SLGCP to 'provide State and local jurisdictions with nationally accepted preparedness levels of first responder capabilities no later than January 31, 2005.' A capabilities-based planning approach to managing risk is the foundation for national preparedness. This document presents version 1.1 of the Homeland Security Target Capabilities List (TCL)."

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Lessons Learned Information Sharing (LLIS)
Media Type:
Help with citations