Future of Nuclear Energy, Hearing before the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, Subcommittee on Energy, One Hundred and Thirteenth Congress, First Session, December 11, 2014   [open pdf - 2MB]

This testimony compilation is from the December 11, 2014 hearing "The Future of Nuclear Energy" held before the House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology. From the Opening Statement of Lamar Smith: ""Today's hearing will examine both current and future challenges and opportunities that face nuclear power. We will first hear from the Department of Energy on its research and development (R&D) strategy to ensure the United States' nuclear energy industry remains competitive. Our second panel will discuss the challenges that developers face in today's regulatory environment. Nuclear power is a proven source of emission-free electricity that has been generated safely in the United States for over half a century. However, our ability to move from R&D to market deployment has been hampered by government red tape and partisan politics. We are just now seeing the first reactors under construction in more than 30 years. This hiatus has diminished our supply chain and ability to build new reactors. […] Today, we will hear from NuScale, a company that is the closest to navigating the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's licensing process to build and deploy the first small modular reactors in the United States. We will also hear from Transatomic, a company recently formed by two graduate students from MIT [Massachusetts Institute of Technology] that could revolutionize the energy sector. Tranastomic's technology would recycle spent nuclear fuel, achieve higher levels of efficiency than existing designs, and yield minimal radioactive byproducts. The U.S. has not lived up to its potential when it comes to nuclear energy. […] I am hopeful that this hearing can serve as a forum for how to enable nuclear power to meet more of our energy needs." Statements, letters and materials submitted for the record include those of the following: Cynthia Lummis, Lamar Smith, Peter Lyons, Ashley Finan, Mike McGough, Leslie Dewan, and Daniel Lipman.

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
U.S. House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology: http://science.house.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations