Mitigation Federal Interagency Operational Plan   [open pdf - 2MB]

From the Introduction: "President Obama signed Presidential Policy Directive (PPD)-8 in March 2011. PPD-8 is aimed at strengthening the security and resilience of the United States through systematic preparation for the threats that pose the greatest risk to the security of the Nation. PPD-8 defined five mission areas-- Prevention, Protection, Mitigation, Response, and Recovery--and directed the development of a series of policy and planning documents to enhance national preparedness. As part of this effort, PPD-8 required the development of a National Planning System to integrate planning across all levels of government and with the private and nonprofit sectors around key capabilities that can be mixed and matched, as needed, to provide an agile, flexible approach to prevent, protect, mitigate, respond, and recover. […] This FIOP [Federal Interagency Operational Plan] builds upon the National Mitigation Framework (NMF), which sets the strategy and doctrine for how the whole community builds, sustains, and delivers the Mitigation core capabilities identified in the National Preparedness Goal. This FIOP describes the concept of operations for integrating and synchronizing existing national-level Federal capabilities to support local, state, tribal, territorial, insular area, and Federal plans, and is supported by Federal department-level operational plans, where appropriate. […] The Mitigation FIOP describes how the Federal Government delivers core capabilities for the Mitigation mission area. The purpose of this FIOP is to establish a joint system for supporting local, state, tribal, territorial, and insular area partners and delivering public resources in a coordinated, effective, and proficient manner."

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Federal Emergency Management Agency: http://www.fema.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations
Listed on September 17, 2014 [Critical Releases]