Critical Minerals Policy Act of 2013: Hearing Before the U.S. Senate Committee on Energy & Natural Resources, One Hundred Thirteenth Congress, Second Session, January 28, 2014   [open pdf - 386KB]

This is the January 28, 2014 hearing, "Critical Minerals Policy Act of 2013," before the U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources. From the opening statement of Ron Wyden: "[O]ur country depends on materials that are not burned or consumed for energy, but are key to many energy technologies, from wind turbines to batteries to oil refineries, as well as a whole host of other technologies. Our country is increasingly dependent on these minerals to increase efficiency, lower costs, and improve performance of manufactured products in these industries. Without them, many of our essential U.S. industries would struggle to survive. Critical minerals are minerals which are essential to American industries, and may be at risk for supply disruptions, such as by a small global market or geopolitical complexities. This legislation tackles these issues head-on, and most importantly ensures a steady supply of the materials that are crucial to thousands of good-paying American jobs. […] [This Act] expands the U.S. supply of critical minerals by looking comprehensively at the entire domestic supply chain of critical minerals. The bill starts with the identification of which minerals and elements are truly in need of special attention. It then requires the Interior Department to conduct assessments of where these minerals are located, and expands research to find more efficient ways of extracting and processing those minerals. The bill also requires the two lead agencies--the Department of the Interior and the Department of Agriculture--to take a fresh look at the permitting process. […] This legislation includes programs to train our next generation of scientists. The bill also includes research programs to extract critical minerals." Statements, letters, and materials submitted for the record include those of the following: Ron Wyden, Lisa Murkowski, David T. Danielson, Larry Meinert, Robert H. Latiff, Jim Sims, David Isaacs, Gregory Conrad, Jennifer Thomas, and Roderick Eggert.

Report Number:
S. HRG. 113-192
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
U.S. Government Printing Office: http://www.gpo.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations