American Energy Initiative, Part 17: A Focus on the Future of Energy Technology with an Emphasis on Canadian Oil Sands, Hearing Before the Subcommittee on Energy and Power of the Committee on Energy and Commerce, House of Representatives, One Hundred Twelfth Congress, Second Session, March 20, 2012   [open pdf - 4MB]

This is the March 20, 2012 hearing on "The American Energy Initiative, Part 17: A Focus on the Future of Energy Technology with an Emphasis on Canadian Oil Sands," held before the U.S. House Committee on Energy and Commerce, Subcommittee on Energy and Power. From the opening statement of Ed Whitfield: "I would like to call this hearing to order this morning. I might say that this is the 17th day of hearings that we have had on energy in America. Frequently, President Obama in his speeches talks about America having only 2 percent of the world's proven oil reserves. Today, we are going to discuss how Canada took action to increase its proven reserves several-fold by allowing the development of oil sands in Alberta. We know that in Canada and in the U.S., there have many groups that have opposed additional oil production in both countries, but Canada faced that situation and as a result, as I have indicated, dramatically increased their proven oil reserves. As a result of that, those of us in America, many of us, are going to continue to advocate for the Keystone XL Pipeline Expansion project that could bring an additional 700,000 barrels of oil a day to Midwestern and Gulf Coast refineries from Canada. The benefits in terms of additional secure oil and thousands of jobs is simply too important for us to give up on. I for one would like to see more Canadian oil flowing into America. I would also like to see the same type of pro-energy agenda in America that made oil sand production possible in Canada." Statements, letters, and materials submitted for the record include those of the following: Ed Whitfield, Kathy Castor, John Shimkus, Henry A. Waxman, Fred Upton, Eddy Isaacs, Anton R. Dammer, John Nenniger, William McCaffrey, Murray D. Smith, Simon Dyer, and Melina Laboucan-Massimo.

Report Number:
Serial No. 112-128
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Government Printing Office: http://www.gpo.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations