Serial No. 112-115: The EMP Threat: Examining the Consequences, Hearing Before the Subcommittee on Cybersecurity, Infrastructure Protection, and Security Technologies of the Committee on Homeland Security, House of Representatives, One Hundred Twelfth Congress, Second Session, September 12, 2012   [open pdf - 338KB]

This is the September 12, 2012 hearing on "The EMP Threat: Examining the Consequences," held before the U.S. House Committee on Homeland Security, Subcommittee on Cybersecurity, Infrastructure Protection, and Security Technologies. From the opening statement of Daniel E. Lungren: "The Committee on Homeland Security Subcommittee on Cybersecurity, Infrastructure Protection, and Security Technologies will come to order. This subcommittee is meeting today to examine the electromagnetic pulse threat. I will now recognize myself for an opening statement. The Washington, DC area was recently impacted by a deadly, fast-moving storm, called a derecho--a word I had never heard of before until I found myself in the midst of it--which is one of the most destructive and deadly thunderstorm systems in North American history. It resulted in 22 deaths, widespread damage, and millions of power outages from the Midwest to the Middle Atlantic States. This derecho provided a glimpse of the kind of destruction--just a glimpse of the kind of destruction that would result from an electromagnetic pulse (EMP) attack. Falling trees and the loss of electric power caused death and destruction from Chicago to Virginia. Fortunately, this power outage was short-term, which limited the human and economic consequences. An EMP is a burst of electromagnetic radiation typically generated by a high-altitude nuclear explosion or a non-nuclear device. Nuclear weapon EMPs are most effective when detonated high in the altitude above the intended target. Depending on the yield of the weapon and the height of the explosion, nuclear EMPs can destroy large portions of the U.S. power and communications infrastructure, we are informed." Statements, letters, and materials submitted for the record include those of the following: Daniel E. Lungren, Yvette D. Clarke, Bennie G. Thompson, Laura Richardson, Trent Franks, Joseph McClelland, Brandon Wales, Michael A. Aimone, Chris Beck, and Nickolaus E. Leggett.

Report Number:
Serial No. 112-115
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Government Printing Office: http://www.gpo.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations