CDC: Ebola (Ebola Virus Disease) [website]   [open html - 46KB]

Alternate Title: CDC: Ebola (Ebola Virus Disease) (EVD)

This webpage is maintained by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The webpage provides information and resources on Ebola Hemorrhagic Fever. Sections of the webpage include: "About the Disease"; "Outbreak Resources"; and "Additional Resources". "Ebola hemorrhagic fever (Ebola HF) is a severe, often-fatal disease in humans and nonhuman primates (monkeys, gorillas, and chimpanzees) that has appeared sporadically since its initial recognition in 1976. The disease is caused by infection with Ebola virus, named after a river in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (formerly Zaire) in Africa, where it was first recognized. The virus is one of two members of a family of RNA [Ribonucleic acid] viruses called the Filoviridae. There are five identified subtypes of Ebola virus. Four of the five have caused disease in humans: Ebola-Zaire, Ebola-Sudan, Ebola-Ivory Coast and Ebola-Bundibugyo. The fifth, Ebola-Reston, has caused disease in nonhuman primates, but not in humans."

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: http://www.cdc.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations