Policy Proposals from Members of Congress to Reform the Nation's Surface Transportation Programs, Hearing Before the Subcommittee on Highways and Transit of the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, House of Representatives, One Hundred Twelfth Congress, First Session, April 5, 2011   [open pdf - 3MB]

From the opening statement of John J. Duncan, Jr.: "This reauthorization of the highway, transit, and highway safety programs will be more challenging than any other in recent memory. Fiscal constraints will cause us to be more creative and find ways to do more with less. The committee will consider proposals to better leverage our highway trust fund dollars through loan and bonding programs and public-private partnerships. I also hope to hear ideas from Members on how to speed up the project delivery process. Time delays and inefficiencies in project delivery not only postpone needed improvements in our Nation's transportation and infrastructure, but also result in increases in the cost of projects. Additionally, the committee is seeking proposals on how to reduce the number of Federal surface transportation programs. Today there are more than 100 highway, transit, and highway safety programs. Many of these programs are duplicative or no longer serve a national need. I know there will be several proposals today to create new programs, but before we create new programs we must perform a thorough review of the existing programs, and eliminate the programs that are no longer needed, or that we can no longer afford." Statements, letters, and materials submitted for the record include those of the following: Earl Blumenauer, G.K. Butterfield, Steve Chabot, Judy Chu, Mark S. Critz, Geoff Davis, Rosa L. DeLauro, John Garamendi, Gene Green, James P. McGovern, Paul Tonko, Nydia M. Velázquez, Grace F. Napolitano, Lou Barletta, Karen Bass, Rick Berg, Madeleine Z. Bordallo, Ken Calvert, Mike Coffman, Gerald E. Connolly, Elijah E. Cummings, Peter A. DeFazio, Bob Filner, Stephen Lee Fincher, Scott Garrett, Al Green, Cynthia M. Lummis, Cathy McMorris Rodgers, Michael H. Michaud, Devin Nunes, David E. Price, Mike Quigley, David G. Reichert, Jean Schmidt, Adam Smith, Steve Southerland, II, and Don Young.

Report Number:
Serial No. 112-21
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Government Printing Office, Federal Digital System: http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/
Media Type:
Help with citations