Budget Hearing, Department of Energy: Applied Energy Funding: Hearing Before the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Appropriations, One Hundred Thirteenth Congress, First Session, March 14, 2013   [open pdf - 1MB]

This testimony compilation is from the March 14, 2013 hearing, "Budget Hearing, Department of Energy: Applied Energy Funding," before the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Appropriations. From the opening statement of Rodney Frelinghuysen: "I'd like to welcome our witnesses, Dr. David Danielson, Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy [EERE], Dr. Pete Lyons, Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy, and Christopher Smith, Acting Assistant Secretary for Fossil Energy. The three accounts that you oversee total more than $3 billion per year, more than half of which is for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. While this is an impressive investment, it is dwarfed by the more than $20 billion your programs received in the stimulus Act of 2009. It should not go without noting that EERE alone received more than 8 times its regular annual allocation from that one law. Each of your programs, however, is critical to the competitiveness of this country. We have asked you to appear today as a single panel to give us all a better sense of the Department's planning across all potential energy sources for this country. The Department's justifications for your programs have been historically separate, but such a stove-piped approach obscures the fact that the applied energy programs should be seen as a portfolio of investments. Generally, we would look to the Department's budget request to get a sense of the approach you're taking across energy sectors, but the request is now more than a month late. I'm told we may not see it until well into April. I must say, gentlemen, that this will make it exceedingly difficult to write our bills in time to avoid another Continuing Resolution for fiscal year 2014, but we will do our best." Statements, letters, and materials submitted for the record include those of the following: Rodney Frelinghuysen, David Danielson, Pete Lyons and Christopher Smith.

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
U.S. House of Representatives Energy Committee on Appropriations: http://appropriations.house.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations