Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) Countries: Comparative Trade and Economic Analysis [January 29, 2013]   [open pdf - 794KB]

"The Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) is a proposed regional free trade agreement (FTA) currently under negotiation between Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States, and Vietnam. The negotiating partners have expressed an interest in allowing this proposed 'living agreement' to cover new trade topics and to include new members that are willing to adopt the proposed agreement's high standards. Canada and Mexico are the most recent countries to join the negotiations and Japan has participated in consultations with the partner countries about the possibility of joining. […] This report provides a comparative economic analysis of the TPP countries and their economic relations with the United States. It suggests that the TPP negotiating partners encompass great diversity in population, economic development, and trade and investment patterns with the United States. This economic diversity and inclusion of fast-growing emerging markets presents both opportunities and challenges for the United States in achieving a comprehensive and high standard regional FTA among TPP countries."

Report Number:
CRS Report for Congress, R42344
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Via E-mail
Media Type:
Help with citations