Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development [February 4, 2008]   [open pdf - 71KB]

"The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) is an intergovernmental economic organization in which the 30 member countries discuss, develop and analyze economic and social policy. While all of the member countries are considered to be economically advanced and collectively produce two-thirds of the world's goods and services, membership is limited only by a country's commitment to a market economy and a pluralistic democracy. The member countries rely on the OECD Secretariat in Paris to collect data, monitor trends, analyze and forecast economic developments, research social changes and patterns in trade, environment, agriculture, technology, taxation and other areas to inform their discussions and to assist them in pursuing their efforts to develop common policies and practices. The U.S. has sparred periodically with other OECD member countries over various issues, including U.S. antidumping laws. Christopher F. Egan was appointed by President Bush to serve as the U.S. Ambassador to the OECD and confirmed by the Senate on October 26, 2007. Key issues for Congress include OECD work on coordinating national approaches to curtailing bribery and the illicit use of tax havens. Congress appropriated about $117 million to the OECD in FY2008. This report will be updated as events warrant."

Report Number:
CRS Report for Congress, RS21128
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Via E-mail
Media Type:
Help with citations