Hearing to Receive Testimony on Proliferation Prevention Programs at the Department of Energy and at the Department of Defense in Review of the Defense Authorization Request for Fiscal Year 2013 and the Future Years Defense Program: Hearing Before the United States Senate Committee on Armed Services, Subcommittee on Emerging Threats and Capabilities, One Hundred Twelfth Congress, Second Session, Tuesday, June 12, 2012   [open pdf - 77KB]

From the opening statement of Senator Kay Hagan: "The purpose of today's hearing is to review the President's fiscal year 2013 request for proliferation prevention programs at the Departments of Defense and Energy. […] We're joined today by three expert witnesses to help us understand these programs that are under way in both Departments. Madelyn Creedon is the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Global Strategic Affairs and she is responsible, among many other subjects, for the policy aspects of these programs at DOD. This is your third time this year before the Armed Services Committee and, as you can tell, we miss you very much. So we're glad to have you back today. Ken Myers is the Director of the Defense Threat Reduction Agency at the Department of Defense, which is focused on reducing the threats from weapons of mass destruction. The agency is responsible for the Cooperative Threat Reduction program. He's also the Director of the U.S. Strategic Command Center for Combating Weapons of Mass Destruction, located at the agency. Anne Harrington is the Deputy Administrator for Defense Nuclear Nonproliferation at the National Nuclear Security Administration of the Department of Energy. We thank all of you for the service that you are giving to our country and thank you for being here today with us. For fiscal year 2013, the Departments of Defense and Energy propose to spend on the order of $3 billion to help stem the flow of weapons of mass destruction." Statements, letters, and materials submitted for the record include those of the following: Kay Hagan, Rob Portman, Madelyn Creedon, Anne Harrington, and Kenneth Myers III.

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
United States Senate Committee on Armed Services: http://armed-services.senate.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations