Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development [May 25, 2012]   [open pdf - 267KB]

"The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) celebrated its 50th Anniversary in 2011, a time when the global economy continues to struggle to recover from a financial crisis and slow economic growth. The OECD is an intergovernmental economic organization in which the 34 member countries discuss, develop and analyze economic and social policy and share expertise and exchanges with more than 70 developing and emerging economies. The member countries include Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Mexico, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, and the United States. While all of the member countries are considered to be economically advanced and collectively produce three-fourths of the world's goods and services, membership is limited only by a country's commitment to a market economy and a pluralistic democracy. The OECD has also extended an invitation to Russia to open discussions for membership and it has offered enhanced engagement with a view to possible membership to Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, and South Africa."

Report Number:
CRS Report for Congress, RS21128
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Via E-mail
Media Type:
Help with citations