Cyber Crime: Updating the Computer Fraud and Abuse Act to Protect Cyber Space and Combat Emerging Threats, Hearing Before the Committee on the Judiciary, United States Senate, One Hundred Twelfth Congress, First Session, September 7, 2011   [open pdf - 3MB]

From the opening statement of Patrick J. Leahy: "Today the Committee is holding an important hearing on cyber crime. Protecting American consumers and businesses from cyber crime and other threats in cyber space has been a priority of this Committee for many years--I might say a bipartisan priority--and we continue that tradition today. […] Developing a comprehensive strategy for cyber security is one of the most pressing challenges facing our Nation today. […] A study released today by Symantec Corporation estimates the cost of cyber crime globally is $114 billion a year. In just the last few months, we have witnessed major data breaches at Sony, Epsilon, RSA, the International Monetary Fund, and Lockheed Martin--just to name a few. […] Our Government computer networks have not been spared. We saw the hacking incidents involving the United State Senate, and also the Central Intelligence Agency websites. We cannot ignore these threats. We cannot ignore the impact on our privacy and security. That is why the Committee will carefully examine the Obama administration's proposals for new legal tools to help law enforcement investigate and prosecute cyber crime today. […] A recent report by the computer security firm Symantec found that on any given day, an average of 6,797 websites harbor malware, or other unwanted programs. That is an increase of slightly over 25 percent since June 2011. […] We are talking about the security of our Nation and our people in cyber space, so we have to work together. Again, this is not a Democratic or Republican issue. This is something that should unite us all." Statements, letters, and materials submitted for the record include those of the following: Patrick J. Leahy, James A. Baker, Chuck Grassley, Pablo A. Martinez, Laura W. Murphy, Kelly William Cobb, Leslie Harris, Fred L. Smith, Marcia Hofman, Charles H. Kennedy, Wayne T. Brough, Orin S. Kerr, Paul Rosenzweig, Berin Szoka, Gregory T. Nojeim, and Julie Stewart.

Report Number:
S. Hrg. 112-126; Senate Hearing 112-126; Serial No. J-112-38
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Government Printing Office, Federal Digital System: http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/
Media Type:
Help with citations