National Disaster Recovery Framework [website]   [open html - 54KB]

"The Recovery Support Functions (RSFs) comprise the National Disaster Recovery Framework's (NDRF's) coordinating structure for key functional areas of assistance. Their purpose is to support local governments by facilitating problem solving, improving access to resources and by fostering coordination among State and Federal agencies, nongovernmental partners and stakeholders. The Recovery Support Functions created within the National Disaster Recovery Framework bring together the core recovery capabilities of Federal departments and agencies and other supporting organizations -- including those not active in emergency response -- to focus on community recovery needs. The Recovery Support Functions are organized into six manageable components and through the Recovery Support Functions, relevant stakeholders and experts are brought together during steady-state planning and when activated post-disaster to identify and resolve recovery challenges. Recovery Support Functions and stakeholders organize and request assistance and/or contribute resources and solutions. Together, these Recovery Support Functions help facilitate local stakeholder participation and promote intergovernmental and public-private partnerships. The objective of the Recovery Support Functions is to facilitate the identification, coordination and delivery of Federal assistance needed to supplement recovery resources and efforts by local, State, Tribal and Territorial governments, as well as private and nonprofit sectors. An additional objective is to encourage and complement investments and contributions by the business community, individuals and voluntary, faith-based and community organizations. These Recovery Support Functions activities assist communities with accelerating the process of recovery, redevelopment and revitalization."

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Federal Emergency Management Agency: http://www.fema.gov
Media Type:
Help with citations