H.R. 4954, The Safe Port Act: Hearing Before the Subcommittee on Economic Security, Infrastructure Protection, and Cybersecurity of the Committee on Homeland Security House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, Second Session, March 16, 2006   [open pdf - 189KB]

From the opening statement of Daniel E. Lungren: "We meet today to hear testimony on H.R. 4954, the Security and Accountability For Every Port Act, that is the SAFE Port Act of 2006. […] The Security and Accountability For Every Port, or SAFE Port Act, is a comprehensive proposal to strengthen the maritime transportation system through a layered security strategy that builds on already-existing initiatives to secure the supply chain from the point of origin to delivery in the United States. I believe the administration has established a foundation upon which we are building, but the building upon that foundation is urgent. This legislation focuses on improving security both at home and abroad by expanding capabilities, maximizing available resources, and pushing our borders outward. The legislation has three key ideas: first, enhancing security at U.S. ports by establishing a $400 million port security grant program with dedicated funding from custom duties; requiring terrorist watch list checks of all port employees with secure access at ports; and establishing additional joint operations centers and furthering the deployment of radiation detection equipment. Second, preventing threats from reaching the United States by authorizing and improving two Customs and Border Protection cornerstone security programs: the container security initiative and the customs trade partnership against terrorism. Third, tracking and protecting containers en route to the U.S. by improving our ability to detect high-risk containers through strengthening the automated targeting system; establishing container security standards; and supporting additional cargo security research and development, including reviving Operation Safe Commerce." Statements, letters, and materials submitted for the record include those of the following: Daniel E. Lungren, Loretta Sanchez, Bennie G. Thompson, Norman D. Dicks, and Sheila Jackson-Lee, Jayson Ahern, Brian Salerno, Eugene Pentimonti, and Noel Cunningham.

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Government Printing Office, Congressional Hearings: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/chearings/index.html
Media Type:
Help with citations