Target Capabilities List: A Companion to the National Preparedness Guidelines, September 2007   [open pdf - 4MB]

"The Target Capabilities List describes the capabilities related to the four homeland security mission areas: Prevent, Protect, Respond, and Recover. It defines and provides the basis for assessing preparedness. It also establishes national guidance for preparing the Nation for major all-hazards events, such as those defined by the National Planning Scenarios. The current version of the TCL contains 37 core capabilities. A 'Consensus of the Community' approach was used to develop the Target Capabilities List. Stakeholders from Federal, State, local, territorial, and tribal governments, the private sector, and nongovernmental organizations came together in four national workshops and capability working groups to define the capabilities. The Guidelines will serve as a framework to guide operational readiness planning, priority-setting, and program implementation at all levels of government. The Guidelines provide a call to action by all Americans as they consider their personal and shared responsibility to be part of A Nation Prepared. The Target Capabilities List provides guidance on building and maintaining capabilities that support the Guidelines."

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
United States. Dept. of Homeland Security: http://www.dhs.gov/
Media Type:
Help with citations
Listed on General U.S. Policy Documents [Policy & Strategy]