Statement on Federal Disaster Assistance for Florida from Hurricane Wilma [October 24, 2005]   [open pdf - 16KB]

From the Document: "The President today declared a major disaster exists in the State of Florida and ordered Federal aid to supplement State and local recovery efforts in the area struck by Hurricane Wilma beginning on October 23, 2005, and continuing. The President's action makes Federal funding available to affected individuals in a 3 county area. The counties include Collier, Lee, and Monroe Counties. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster. Federal funding is available to State and eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis in the counties of Brevard, Broward, Charlotte, Collier, DeSoto, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Highlands, Indian River, Lee, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Okeechobee, Osceola, Palm Beach, Polk, St. Lucie, and Sarasota for debris removal and emergency protective measures, including direct Federal assistance, at 75 percent Federal funding."

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
White House: http://www.whitehouse.gov
Media Type:
Help with citations