Improving Pre-screening of Aviation Passengers against Terrorist and Other Watch Lists: Hearing Before the Subcommittee on Economic Security, Infrastructure Protection, and Cybersecurity of the Committee on Homeland Security, House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, First Session, June 29, 2005   [open pdf - 378KB]

From the opening statement of Dan Lungren: "The subcommittee is meeting today to assess the effectiveness of the systems and policies employed by the Transportation Security Administration for pre-screening air travelers. I would like to welcome everybody to today's hearing. This morning, we will continue our oversight of the TSA by examining its aviation passenger pre-screening initiatives. By now, everyone should be acquainted with the current systems being used by the airlines to pre-screen passengers: The Computer-Assisted Passenger Pre-screening System, or CAPPS, and the no-fly list. CAPPS is a rule-based system which flags air travelers for additional screening based on travel and ticket purchase habits. The specific elements of the program are classified, but many of the criteria are widely known and discussed. … The watch lists, which are the focus of today's hearing, also have their own problems. By some estimates, 2 out of every 100 flyers have been misidentified as persons on these lists. If true, that is a lot when we are dealing with 1.8 million passengers every day … TSA must continue its development of an effective targeted passenger pre-screening system to improve its aviation security operations and reduce costs. It must also integrate all pre-screening initiatives to minimize redundancy and enhance efficiency. Congress must do the oversight along the way as well. We must make sure we are not standing in the way of getting this new system in place as quickly as possible." Statements, letters, and materials submitted for the record include those of the following: Daniel E. Lungren, Loretta Sanchez, Christopher Cox, Bennie G. Thompson, Peter A. DeFazio, Norman D. Dicks, Sheila Jackson-Lee, John Linder, Zoe Lofgren, Edward J. Markey, John B. Anderson, James X. Dempsey, James C. May, Justin Oberman and Paul Rosenzweig.

Report Number:
Serial No. 109-27
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Government Printing Office, Congressional Hearings: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/chearings/index.html
Media Type:
Help with citations