Fiscal Year 2002 Budget Request for the Department of Energy, Hearing Before the Committee on Energy and Natural Resources, United States Senate, One Hundred Seventh Congress, First Session to Consider the President's Proposed Fiscal Year 2002 Budget for the Department of Energy, May 10, 2001   [open pdf - 260KB]

This is the May 10, 2001 hearing on "Fiscal Year 2002 Budget Request" held before the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources. From the opening statement of Hon. Frank H. Murkowski, U.S. Senator from Alaska: "Today's hearing is to consider the Department of Energy's budget request for fiscal year 2002. We are very pleased to have with us our Secretary of Energy, Mr. Spencer Abraham, and we want to welcome you back to the committee, and particularly back to the U.S. Senate, where you have spent a good deal of your productive years. Now that you have made the sacrifice to go downtown, why, we have great expectations, based on your background and training you have received from this august body. In any event, your discretionary budget request for the Department of Energy is just over $19.2 billion, an increase of nearly $282 million over last year's request, and nearly $1.437 billion over fiscal year 2000 enacted levels. The proposed budget in our opinion fulfills the President's desire for moderate discretionary spending while meeting crucial national missions. Energy, national security, environmental quality, and science are among those. The budget proposal is, of course, important in light of the energy crisis that we face, and the Department of Energy is going to play a significant role in managing and correcting this crisis. However, the reality is that to end the crisis we are going to have to develop a comprehensive energy strategy that, one, increases production of conventional fuels, that two, expands use of alternative fuels and renewables, and three, improves energy efficiency and conservation. The highlights, I think, include in your budget request certain initiatives in each of these areas: production, alternative fuels, renewables, and energy efficiency." Statements, letters, and materials submitted for the record include those of the following: Spencer Abraham, Daniel K. Akaka, Jeff Bingaman, Larry E. Craig, Pete V. Domenici, Tim Johnson, Frank H. Murkowski, Gordon Smith, Craig Thomas.

Report Number:
S. Hrg. 107-107; Senate Hearing 107-107
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Government Printing Office, Congressional Hearings: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/chearings/index.html
Media Type:
Help with citations