Serial No. 109-203: Border Vulnerabilities and International Terrorism: Hearings before the Subcommittee on the International Terrorism and Nonproliferation of the Committee on International Relations, House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, Second Session, July 5 and 7, 2006   [open pdf - 24MB]

From the opening statement of Edward R. Royce: "The purpose of this hearing, titled 'Border Vulnerabilities and International Terrorism,' is to assess the threat of international terrorism and scrutinize our nation's response. The number one priority of U.S. Border Patrol, as presented in their National Border Patrol Strategy, is to 'establish substantial probability of apprehending terrorists and their weapons as they attempt to illegally enter the United States between the ports of entry.' The Subcommittee today will be focused on this critical mission. In April, this Subcommittee conducted a similar oversight hearing, 'Checking Terrorism at the Border,' which critically looked at the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services. The Subcommittee heard testimony of fraud, corruption, and national security compromises within that agency, which terrorists and foreign intelligence services are likely exploited. The 9/11 terrorists entered our country this way, most by fraudulently securing documents and violating their terms of stay. Our hearing caught the attention of USCIS leadership, and, hopefully, its operations will improve as a result of a new director and a new directive. This week, with field hearings here in San Diego today, and Laredo, Texas on Friday, the Subcommittee will examine our physical vulnerabilities to terrorism." Statements, letters, and materials submitted for the record include those of the following: Darryl Griffen, William Kolender, Leroy D. Baca, Rick Flores, Gregory Kutz, T.J. Bonner, Kris Kobach, Andy Ramirez, Reynaldo Garza, Sigifredo Gonzalez, Raul G. Salinas, Elizabeth G. Flores, Blas Nunez-Neto, Edward R. Royce, Brad Sherman, Darrell Issa, Zoe Lofgren, Marsha Blackburn, Grace F. Napolitano, Silvestre Reyes, Sheila Jackson Lee, Rube´ Hinojosa, Brad Sherman, Michael D. Antonovich, David V. Aguilar, and Juanita Valdez-Cox.

Report Number:
Serial No. 109-203
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Government Printing Office, Congressional Hearings: http://www.gpoaccess.gov/chearings/index.html
Media Type:
Help with citations