Target Capabilities List: A Companion to the National Preparedness Goal, August 2006 [Draft]   [open pdf - 5MB]

"The Target Capabilities List describes and sets targets for the capabilities required to achieve the four homeland security mission areas: Prevent, Protect, Respond, and Recover. It defines and provides the basis for assessing preparedness. It also establishes national targets for the capabilities to prepare the Nation for major all-hazards events, such as those defined by the National Planning Scenarios. The current version of the TCL contains 37 core capabilities. When the additional capabilities that are under development are completed by the end of 2006, the TCL will provide a comprehensive set of capabilities required to support the Goal. A "Consensus of the Community" approach was used to develop the Target Capabilities List. Stakeholders from Federal, State, local, territorial, and tribal governments, the private sector, and non-governmental organizations came together in four national workshops and capability working groups to define the desired outcome, critical tasks, preparedness and performance measures, resources, national targets, and assigned responsibilities for building and maintaining the capability. The Goal will contribute to operational readiness, priority-setting, and program implementation at all levels of government. The Goal provides a call to action by all Americans as they consider their personal and shared responsibility to be part of A Nation Prepared. The Target Capabilities List provides guidance on building and maintaining capabilities needed to achieve the Goal."

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Via E-mail
Media Type:
Help with citations