Target Capabilities List 2.0   [open pdf - 10MB]

"The Target Capabilities List (TCL) is a companion to the National Preparedness Goal. The Target Capabilities List (TCL) defines the capabilities, outcomes, measures, and risk-based target levels of capability for the Nation to achieve the Goal. The TCL also defines the role of Federal, State, local and tribal governments, non-governmental organizations, the private sector, and citizens in building and maintaining capabilities. It provides a basis to assess preparedness and for policymakers at all levels to set priorities for the most effective use of limited resources. Capabilities provide the means to accomplish a mission or function by performing critical tasks, under specified conditions, to target levels of performance. Capabilities are delivered by combinations of properly planned, organized, equipped, trained, and exercised personnel that achieve the desired outcome. Capabilities address operational requirements established in the National Incident Management System (NIMS), the National Response Plan (NRP), and the National Infrastructure Protection Plan (NIPP), and incorporate existing performance standards and metrics wherever possible. They provide the means to achieve the National Preparedness Goal. The TCL, which currently identifies 37 capabilities, was developed with the active participation by and in consultation with key stakeholders at all levels. The TCL is a tool that can be used to guide preparedness planning, establish training requirements, and evaluate performance through exercises and operations. It also will provide a basis for preparedness assessments and reports. Although the TCL should inform the establishment of priorities for limited resources, it is not a formula or a commitment of federal funding."

Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Via E-mail
Media Type:
Help with citations