North Dakota Emergency Management and Homeland Security Authorities Summarized [March 23, 2004]   [open pdf - 31KB]

From the Summary: "The North Dakota Disaster Act delegates powers to the governor, the state's emergency management agency, and local emergency management agencies. The statute also provides for mutual aid agreements and outlines disaster mitigation requirements. Assistance and funding come primarily from federal aid through the Stafford Act (42 U.S.C. [United States Code] 5121 et seq) and loans to match federal funds. Political subdivisions may enter into mutual aid agreements. This report is one of a series that profiles emergency management and homeland security statutory authorities of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Each profile identifies the more significant elements of state statutes, generally as codified. Congressional readers may wish to conduct further searches for related provisions using the Internet link presented in the last section of this report. The National Conference of State Legislatures provided primary research assistance in the development of these profiles under contract to the Congressional Research Service (CRS). Summary information on all of the profiles is presented in CRS Report RL32287. This report will be updated as developments warrant."

Report Number:
CRS Report for Congress, RS21798
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Via E-mail
Media Type:
Help with citations