Colorado Emergency Management and Homeland Security Statutory Authorities Summarized [March 26, 2004]   [open pdf - 28KB]

"Six Colorado statutes address terrorism and emergency management: Colorado Response to Terrorism Act; Office of Preparedness, Security and Fire Safety Act; Office of Anti-Terrorism Planning and Training Act; Division of Fire Safety Act; Office of Emergency Management Act; and Colorado Disaster Emergency Act of 1992. Seven units are assigned the main duties of emergency response. Disaster aid is provided at the governor's direction to state agencies by means of a state facility security fund and a disaster emergency fund. The governor and the disaster emergency council may declare disasters. The statutes require that continuity of government rules and plans be adopted. The Office of Emergency Management provides mutual aid in disasters. This report is one of a series that profiles the emergency management and homeland security statutory authorities of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and three territories (American Samoa, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands). Each profile identifies the more significant elements of state statutes, generally as codified. Congressional readers may wish to conduct further searches for related provisions using the Internet link presented in the last section of this report. The National Conference of State Legislatures provided primary research assistance in the development of these profiles under contract to the Congressional Research Service (CRS). Summary information on all of the profiles is presented in CRS Report RL32287. This report will be updated as developments warrant."

Report Number:
CRS Report for Congress, RS21783
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Via E-mail
Media Type:
Help with citations