Alabama Emergency Management and Homeland Security Statutory Authorities Summarized [March 23, 2004]   [open pdf - 32KB]

"Alabama has two statutes that address emergencies and disasters--the Alabama Emergency Management Act of 1955 (EMA) and the Alabama Homeland Security Act of 2003 (HSA, HB335). The EMA includes authorities to ensure that preparations are made to manage disasters or emergencies and to assist and encourage emergency management and emergency preparedness activities by making grants to political subdivisions for that purpose. The HSA established a Department of Homeland Security and other entities to coordinate and undertake state preparedness, planning, and response activities. A third statute, the Emergency Interim Succession Act, provides for the succession of powers for legislators and officers of political subdivisions in emergencies. Assistance is provided to victims through an extensive mutual aid program and federal aid. This report is one of a series that profiles the emergency management and homeland security statutory authorities of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and three territories (American Samoa, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands). Each profile identifies the more significant elements of state statutes, generally as codified. Congressional readers may wish to conduct further searches for related provisions using the Internet link presented in the last section of this report. The National Conference of State Legislatures provided primary research assistance in the development of these profiles under contract to the Congressional Research Service (CRS). Summary information on all of the profiles is presented in CRS Report RL32287. This report will be updated as developments warrant."

Report Number:
CRS Report for Congress, RS21777
Public Domain
Retrieved From:
Via E-mail
Media Type:
Help with citations